[SOLVED] Output_Penalty_Tile Not Quite Working

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

[SOLVED] Output_Penalty_Tile Not Quite Working

Postby Corbeau » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:42 pm

Any idea why this isn't working?

Code: Select all

[effect_gov_tile_penalty_tribal]
type    = "Output_Penalty_Tile"
value   = 2
reqs    =
    { "type", "name", "range"
      "Gov", "Tribal", "Player"
    }


The government is, obviously, Tribal, there are no negations. There are more other Output_Penalty_Tile effects, but they shouldn't interfere, if I understand it correctly (and besides, they don't appy to this situation).
Last edited by Corbeau on Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Output_Penalty_Tile Not Quite Working

Postby cazfi » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:32 pm

Just to be sure: you do know what the value of the Output_Penalty_Tile effect does, and not expect it to be amount of penalty? See README.effects.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Output_Penalty_Tile Not Quite Working

Postby cazfi » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:49 pm

Oh, I now remember that relatively recently was client-side display of the output value updated to take in to account player-specific effects of the player. Don't know the details (whose effects it uses - is it always client's owner or can it be territory owner, whether it applies to city dialog and/or main map output display)

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Output_Penalty_Tile Not Quite Working

Postby Corbeau » Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:21 pm

If I got it right, value=2 means "if it is more than 2, decrease it by 1".

However, on the first turn I make a city. Effect should apply because of the primitive government. Wheat nearby gives 3 food and hill-coal gives 3 production (both are 3 by default so should be 2). It's not a display matter because next turn the granary grows according to the display.

EDIT: Mystery solved. More effects add up. So I had two active at the same time making value 4. Case closed.