Unable to enter the game

You can get help here if Freeciv doesn't start on your computer, or if you keep getting fatal errors while playing etc.
Guilhem38760
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:50 pm

Unable to enter the game

Postby Guilhem38760 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:04 pm

Hi everybody,
I'm relatively new to this game and had a big problem when i started setting up the game;
when I messed around with the resolution I accidentally set it too big for my screen and now whenever the game launches I am unable to reach any windows.
So I was wondering how you could modify the resolution in the files; this would really help and I thank anybody who'll reply.
-G.

Wahazar
Hardened
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby Wahazar » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:33 pm

Search for freeciv-client-rc-* file (somewhere in hidden .freeciv dir)

Guilhem38760
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby Guilhem38760 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:47 pm

Thanks for the quick reply but after searching through the files I didn't find anything that ressembles what you described :/ .

madmax
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:34 pm

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby madmax » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:23 pm

Maybe have a look at some messages in this thread?
If that doesn't help, you'll have to give more details, for starters where and how did you "mess around with the resolution"?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby cazfi » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:52 pm

Which version? Which client?

Guilhem38760
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby Guilhem38760 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:14 pm

It's the experimental verion.

louis94
Hardened
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Unable to enter the game

Postby louis94 » Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:05 am

Guilhem38760 wrote:Thanks for the quick reply but after searching through the files I didn't find anything that ressembles what you described :/ .


The .freeciv folder is located under your home folder and hidden by default. If you use the Gtk 3 client (the default), you can also launch it as follows:

Code: Select all

freeciv-gtk3 -- -r 640x480