ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Web version of freeciv at play.freeciv.org
User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby AndreasR » Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:12 pm

Ok... I have now released an update, where this right-click to select units is disabled on Chrome OS and Mac OS X completely.

buzman, can you please try again now? If you still get the problem, could you please be very detailed about which mouse and keyboard buttons you click, and when the red rectangle appears?

User avatar
Arbogast
Elite
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:09 am
Location: France

Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby Arbogast » Sat Jun 18, 2016 2:02 pm

If the right mouse button & drag is released, You should see all the units within the square to be highlighted (selected). In the screenshot they are not.
Why?

buzman
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:56 am

Chromebook - Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby buzman » Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:01 pm

Hi, just checking in....still a problem, but as long as I don't press the ALT key, i can still get my civfix.

"If you still get the problem, could you please be very detailed about which mouse and keyboard buttons you click, and when the red rectangle appears?"

Just to re-clarify:

Pressing the ALT key plus clicking on the mouse pad, causes an adjustable red selection box to appear and it does not go away, even after "end turn" is pressed for the next turn.

Screenshot 2016-06-25 at 2.51.21 PM.png


Thanks again...digging the continuous game improvements.

Just wondering, when you plan to add EU disbandment and volatility traders taking over the world?

-Buz

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby AndreasR » Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:10 am

This has been made configurable now. There is a option called "Right-click selects units" in the settings dialog in pregame.
Please report if this solved your problems.

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: Chromebook - Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby sveinung » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:07 am

To me it looks like mapview_mouse_click() never is called. Right click to recenter is broken too. Maybe the browser sends another event when it notice that it is the end of a drag? Happens on Chromium 51.0.2704.79 Built on 8.4, running on Debian 8.5 (64-bit)

buzman wrote:causes an adjustable red selection box to appear and it does not go away, even after "end turn" is pressed for the next turn.

I have changed the development version so that pressing escape makes the box go away. It isn't on play.freeciv.org yet. (Andreas has talked about updating the version on play.freeciv.org on Sunday)

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby AndreasR » Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:06 pm

A fix for this has now been pushed to the production server. Has the problem been fixed for you now?

buzman
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:56 am

Re: ALT+ "right click" to navigate map - now creates a red highlight box

Postby buzman » Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:57 pm

Thanks for fixing this - It works like it used to!