hex display

Various topics about the game, the website, or anything else Freeciv related that doesn't fit elsewhere.
dagriggstar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:25 am

hex display

Postby dagriggstar » Thu May 16, 2013 4:34 am

So I saw an article with a screenshot of what I think is freeciv

http://media.pcgamer.com/files/2013/05/freeciv-1.png

I was wondering how to get the map to be displayed as hexes like that instead of being displayed in rectangles (and just having some movements disabled/requiring two moves to get to) ?

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: hex display

Postby Caedo » Thu May 16, 2013 3:33 pm

You need to have a hex tileset. While running a game, open the "File" menu and go to the local settings. In the tab "Graphics", there should be an option to choose the tileset. The hex2t tileset is the default hex tileset in the game. The map you play on should also be hex though, or it'll be kinda strange.
~S.C. L.

User avatar
JTN
Elite
Posts: 473
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:15 am

Re: hex display

Postby JTN » Mon May 20, 2013 9:06 pm

This (including the hazard of mismatched server and client settings) is covered in the FAQ.
(Although I just noticed it was out-of-date for 2.3.x, so I updated it.)

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1753
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: hex display

Postby cazfi » Wed May 22, 2013 9:13 pm

That screenshot from desktop freeciv is quite unfortunate for freeciv-web article. Freeciv-web lacks a lot of functionality of the freeciv, ability to use different tilesets or hex topologies one of them.

dagriggstar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:25 am

Re: hex display

Postby dagriggstar » Mon May 27, 2013 6:18 am

Thanks for the help worked it out :)