new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby Caedo » Sat Nov 02, 2013 12:04 pm

Just wanted to let you know, in the version downloadable from the OP(0.95), all unit classes have "?unitclass:" in front of their names, except for small sea units. Might want to fix that, just in case this gets included and translated.
Other than that, keep it up!
~S.C. L.

ngunjaca
Veteran
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby ngunjaca » Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:06 pm

thnx for the "bug report". The mistake is corrected. In the meantime I already made some other changes but I wont release a new version yet. I must see how I will connect the techs from tribal to ancients and probably some changes in the tribal techs will change.

ngunjaca
Veteran
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby ngunjaca » Sat Nov 02, 2013 9:51 pm

Here is the quinquereme:
Image
the diplomat/emissary
Image

User avatar
heilkitty
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:36 am

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby heilkitty » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:26 am

Nice. Are ancient era ships able to carry settlers and horsies?

ngunjaca
Veteran
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby ngunjaca » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:17 am

Yes i plan that they have a cargo capacity for small land units. The quinquereme is a larger ship, and it would be able to carry horses as well, but the capacity will probably be one "horse" unit.

ngunjaca
Veteran
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby ngunjaca » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:09 am

The trade ship (junk ship) is done:
Image

This one was tricky; it is a combination of 2d and 3d elements assembled and color corrected.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby cazfi » Sun Nov 03, 2013 9:35 am

ngunjaca wrote:Yes i plan that they have a cargo capacity for small land units. The quinquereme is a larger ship, and it would be able to carry horses as well, but the capacity will probably be one "horse" unit.

So it will not be able to carry more than one "small unit" either. Freeciv has no concept of unit "size". I think we could implement that for 2.6 (bigger units taking more cargo space). Would you find it useful?

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby Caedo » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:20 am

cazfi wrote:
ngunjaca wrote:Yes i plan that they have a cargo capacity for small land units. The quinquereme is a larger ship, and it would be able to carry horses as well, but the capacity will probably be one "horse" unit.

So it will not be able to carry more than one "small unit" either. Freeciv has no concept of unit "size". I think we could implement that for 2.6 (bigger units taking more cargo space). Would you find it useful?

I don't know about ngunjaca, but it would open a ton of new possibilities, and I might as well use it in an own ruleset.
~S.C. L.

ngunjaca
Veteran
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby ngunjaca » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:30 am

cazfi wrote:
ngunjaca wrote:Yes i plan that they have a cargo capacity for small land units. The quinquereme is a larger ship, and it would be able to carry horses as well, but the capacity will probably be one "horse" unit.

So it will not be able to carry more than one "small unit" either. Freeciv has no concept of unit "size". I think we could implement that for 2.6 (bigger units taking more cargo space). Would you find it useful?


YES, It will definitely be a nice and useful option. I would also like to see an option to limit the unit number per tile which again is defined in a "size" so we can for instance have one tile with five small land units or 2 big and one small land unit or whatever other combo. Cities would have more "capacity". Id like to hear some other opinions on this.

BTW i saw the new roads system implemented in the trunk freeciv version, all i can say we waited for this a very loooong time and it is great to see it there.

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: new FreeCiv mod development - NExtended

Postby Caedo » Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:24 pm

ngunjaca wrote:I would also like to see an option to limit the unit number per tile which again is defined in a "size" so we can for instance have one tile with five small land units or 2 big and one small land unit or whatever other combo. Cities would have more "capacity". Id like to hear some other opinions on this.

Yeah, would be a nice idea. Unit classes have a size attribute, terrain types have a capacity attribute, and through effects, the capacity could be increased. That would be my idea. In the default ruleset, all unit classes should probably have a size of 0 though.
~S.C. L.