Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Do you want to help out with Freeciv development? Then check out this forum.
Post Reply
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

C. replace the section [effect_hydro_plant] with:

Code: Select all

[effect_hydro_plant_bonus_1]
type    = "Output_Bonus"
value	= 50
reqs	=
    { "type",       "name",             "range",    "present"
      "OutputType", "shield",           "local",     TRUE
      "Building",   "Hydro Plant",      "City",      TRUE
      "Building",   "Factory",          "City",      TRUE     
      "Building",   "Mfg. Plant",       "City",      FALSE     
      "Building",   "Hoover Dam",       "Continent", FALSE   ;  bug fix
      "Building",   "Nuclear Plant",    "City",      FALSE
    }

[effect_hydro_plant_bonus_2]
type    = "Output_Bonus"
value	= 50
reqs	=
    { "type",       "name",             "range",    "present"
      "OutputType", "shield",           "local",     TRUE
      "Building",   "Hydro Plant",      "City",      TRUE
      "Building",   "Mfg. Plant",       "City",      TRUE     
      "Building",   "Hoover Dam",       "Continent", FALSE   ;  bug fix
      "Building",   "Nuclear Plant",    "City",      FALSE
    }
also, as a bug fix, change [effect_hydro_plant_1] to read:

Code: Select all

[effect_hydro_plant_pollution]
type    = "Pollu_Prod_Pct"
value	= -50
reqs	=
    { "type",       "name",             "range",    "present"
      "Building",   "Hydro Plant",      "City",      TRUE
      "Building",   "Recycling Center", "City",      FALSE
      "Building",   "Hoover Dam",       "Continent", FALSE   ;  bug fix
      "Building",   "Nuclear Plant",    "City",      FALSE
    }
.........
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

D. replace the section [effect_power_plant] with:

Code: Select all

[effect_power_plant_bonus_1]
type    = "Output_Bonus"
value	= 50
reqs	=
    { "type",       "name",             "range",    "present"
      "OutputType", "shield",           "local",     TRUE
      "Building",   "Power Plant",      "City",      TRUE
      "Building",   "Factory",          "City",      TRUE     
      "Building",   "Mfg. Plant",       "City",      FALSE     
      "Building",   "Hoover Dam",       "Continent", FALSE   ;  bug fix
      "Building",   "Nuclear Plant",    "City",      FALSE
      "Building",   "Hydro Plant",      "City",      FALSE
    }

[effect_power_plant_bonus_2]
type    = "Output_Bonus"
value	= 50
reqs	=
    { "type",       "name",             "range",    "present"
      "OutputType", "shield",           "local",     TRUE
      "Building",   "Power Plant",      "City",      TRUE
      "Building",   "Mfg. Plant",       "City",      TRUE     
      "Building",   "Hoover Dam",       "Continent", FALSE   ;  bug fix
      "Building",   "Nuclear Plant",    "City",      FALSE
      "Building",   "Hydro Plant",      "City",      FALSE
    }
also, as a bug fix, change ... no, sorry, no pollution reduction here.
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

Finally, another change to help text that I should have supplied with a previous post:

City Walls.

In civ1 buildings.ruleset this part of the help text in [building_city_walls]:

Code: Select all

City Walls make it easier to defend a city.  They triple the defense\
 strength of units within the city against land, sea, and helicopter\
 units.  They are ineffective against non-helicopter airborne units as well\
 as Artillery.  City Walls also prevent the loss of population which\
 occurs when a defending unit is destroyed by a land unit.\
should be replaced by:

Code: Select all

City Walls make it easier to defend a city.  They triple the defense\
 strength of units within the city against all units except Artillery\
  and Bomber.\
"), _("\
City Walls also prevent the loss of population which\
 occurs when a defending unit is destroyed by a land unit.\
Keep the last few lines that read:

Code: Select all

"), _("\
For cities near rivers, City Walls also eliminate the risk of population\
 loss from flooding.\
")
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by cazfi »

nef wrote:Finally, another change to help text
Already being handled in Bug #822926
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

cazfi wrote:Already being handled in Bug #822926
Should this be extended to R3.0 (etc.)?
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

Tax rates: The concept of controls on tax rates (etc.) came as a surprise to me when I first stating using fc. I do not remember them as being part of Civ I.

Wiki:It's very important to ensure science and tax rates are as you intend them at this early stage. Unless your style is very cash based, it is advantageous to change the science rate to 100%, so that critical early discoveries can be obtained as early as possible.

If I am correct then replace all sections [effect_max_rates_*] (civ1 effects.ruleset) with

Code: Select all

[effect_max_rates]
type    = "Max_Rates"
value   = 100
reqs    =
    { "type",       "name",      "range"
    }
A cheap and easy alternative is to simply comment out the "Gov" predicate from one of the rules that provides 100% rates - e.g. democracy or anarchy.

N.b. I have seen an A/V showing the long drawn out intro sequence in Civ I followed by gameplay. The gameplay was edited but the early (initial) section clearly showed 100% science.
User avatar
meynaf
Hardened
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:27 am
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by meynaf »

I can confirm civ1 does not limit tax/science. You can start a new game and then set science to 100% immediately.
Another difference is the way it is rounded. E.g. if you're at 50% tax / 50% science and you produce an odd number, extra point will be science at fciv but tax at civ1.
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by cazfi »

nef wrote:
cazfi wrote:Already being handled in Bug #822926
Should this be extended to R3.0 (etc.)?
Unless comments say otherwise, tickets are considered to affect all the later branches too. Hrm does not allow setting multiple target versions for a ticket, unlike gna.org did, and cloning tickets just for having them for every target branch would be too much bureaucracy.
User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 1291
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by Corbeau »

About tax control: let me just spam a bit by saying that the Simulation ruleset has tax control stages opposite from standard Freeciv rulesets: in early governments, when you are an absolute ruler, you have full freedom of setting tax and science. As the ruler becomes less absolutist, he loses control so in Democracy you can only increase Tax, Lux or Sci to 50% max.
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* LongTurn Blog - information nexus with stuff and stuff and stuff
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...
nef
Elite
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Re: Correct the rulesets civ1 and civ2

Post by nef »

As for the simulation ruleset I had remembered this reversal. Always seemed to be more realistic to me but who am I to criticise the perversities in Civ II.
Post Reply