Desktop FreeCiv in 3D?

Various topics about the game, the website, or anything else Freeciv related that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Blake00

Desktop FreeCiv in 3D?

Post by Blake00 »

Apologies in advance if this is a dumb noob question asked many times before.

The 3D mode on the FreeCiv web version looks awesome yet I cannot find anything about installing it for the regular offline desktop version? Is it even possible? If so can someone point me in the right direction?

Blake's Sanctum: Retro site for retro games! Civ, MoM, C&C, Dune, HoMM, B5, Star Trek, Doom, TES & more!
Corbeau
Elite

Re: Desktop FreeCiv in 3D?

Post by Corbeau »

It is exclusively web version. I think it may be possible to install the server locally, but you'd have to compile it from scratch. Probably adjust stuff in the code. I'm not a programmer, but that is my impression. I know I wouldn't be able to do it IF it is even possible.
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* LongTurn Blog - information nexus with stuff and stuff and stuff
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...
Blake00

Post by Blake00 »

Corbeau wrote:It is exclusively web version. I think it may be possible to install the server locally, but you'd have to compile it from scratch. Probably adjust stuff in the code. I'm not a programmer, but that is my impression. I know I wouldn't be able to do it IF it is even possible.
Thank you for your reply, yeah I'm not a programmer either. I've done a few graphics mods and scenarios for the early 2D Civ games but I've never messed with Freeciv!

That's a shame as the web version of FreeCiv doesn't have a guaranteed future (like all online server based games) whereas a mod for the offline desktop version can be preserved by fans and never be lost!