Game comment?

Various topics about the game, the website, or anything else Freeciv related that doesn't fit elsewhere.
fstltna
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:44 pm

Game comment?

Postby fstltna » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:47 pm

Easy question I think: How do I set the comment for my server in the server list?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1448
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Game comment?

Postby cazfi » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:43 pm

It used to be separate server command but was recently changed to a server setting in development branches.

S2_6:

Code: Select all

> help metamessage
Command: metamessage  -  Set metaserver info line.
Synopsis: metamessage <meta-line>
Level: ctrl
Description:
  Set user defined metaserver info line. If parameter is omitted,
  previously set metamessage will be removed. For most of the time user
  defined metamessage will be used instead of automatically generated
  messages, if it is available.


S3_0:

Code: Select all

> explain metamessage
Option: metamessage  -  Metaserver info line
Description:
  User defined metaserver info line. For most of the time a user defined
  metamessage will be used instead of an automatically generated
  message. Set to empty ("", not "empty") to always use an automatically
  generated meta server message.
Status: changeable
Value: "", Default: ""

User avatar
dunnoob
Elite
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:13 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Game comment?

Postby dunnoob » Sat Oct 21, 2017 6:05 pm

Good, I like settings better than commands, because they can be integrated into the settings section of a game.ruleset. This is only required for locked settings, everything else (including commands) could be handled in the xyzzy.serv file, but settings can be also queried in a script, e.g.:

Code: Select all

         init = server.setting.get( "topology" )

         if not string.find( init, "WRAPX|WRAPY" ) then
            radius_info( _("expected WRAPX|WRAPY|..., got %s"), init )
         end                           -- unsuited topology warning
I think settings can't be changed yet in a script. Background, I would like a "default AI skill level" setting. It exists internally and in saved games, reflecting the last "handicapped", "novice", "easy", "normal", "hard", "cheating", or (for debug versions) "experimental" command without arguments, but it would be nice to start with, say, "easy", upgraded to "normal" at "barbonset", upgraded to "hard" at turn TBD, and maybe upgraded to "cheating" at "single player builds spaceship" automatically (in a script.)