Page 1 of 2

Qt Issue

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:14 am
by GriffonSpade
Qt client freezes up every time I try to connect to my local server with client. Note that it only does this with stand-alone servers, not the built-in one. (Windows; 2.5.4 and 2.5.1)

Anyone know what's going on here?

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:52 pm
by mir3x
1st) If u change name of local server from COMPUTER_NAME to localhost will it connect ?
2) in gtk client if u click on local network and click local server then connect entry box will change from localhost to COMPUTER_NAME, will u connect then ?

I guess that netbios or whatever resolves that name is not working correctly.

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:22 am
by GriffonSpade
Setting host to both "localhost" and {COMPUTERNAME} work peachy with GTK. (Though, I notice that if I get a refused connection, I have to cancel out to the main menu then come back in for it to let me try to connect again)

It may be notable that when it freezes the bottom has the message "Welcome to Freeciv 2.5.4 Server at port 5556".
It does this whether the servername is set to either "localhost" or {COMPUTERNAME}
Additionally, the server itself is registering the client as connected.
It never gets to the screen showing the game options, staying at the server selection menu. (On LAN tab ofc, since it's local server)
Hitting the Refresh button also freezes it up. As does the Cancel button.
It does not freeze upon pushing connect if the server doesn't exist.
Refresh and Cancel freeze even if there is no server available at all.

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:09 am
by GriffonSpade
Issue is also present in 2.6 alpha r32928.

Not surprising, but I thought I'd mention it.

Oh, and my windows version is Windows 7 Home Premium with Service Pack 1. If that helps any.

While this issue doesn't affect me much, if it extends beyond localhost, it would mean Qt is non-functional for multiplayer for anyone affected.

If anyone else could chime in if they have similar issues or not, the versions they're using, and what OS they have?
Checks on both localhost and internet metaserver would be helpful.

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:28 am
by mir3x
It works well under win7 ultimate, i could connect to localhost and internet server.
I have full qt installed, so maybe I have installed something that u dont. No idea.

Maybe when it will be freezed long enough, windows will ask to close that,
and something like here http://www.cyberlink.com/support/faq-co ... o?id=10449
will be created in event viewer ?

EDIT: I'll stop server scaning before connecting to server, maybe it causes some troubles ( to 2.5.5) (https://gna.org/bugs/index.php?24833)

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:38 pm
by mir3x
Can u check now with newest build ?

http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... .4+r33261/

I added also ability to change qt system theme - no idea if it will work under windows - probably yes - so progressabars should look better with default Fusion Qt theme - but from next build, not that one.

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:03 am
by GriffonSpade
No visible change in behavior.

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 10:27 pm
by louis94
I saw something similar in trunk on Arch Linux, but can't test for a while. Ping me back in two weeks.

Louis

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:57 am
by louis94
I can reliably reproduce a similar freeze with trunk version. Steps to reproduce:
  1. Start a local server
  2. Open the client
  3. On the start page, choose "Connect to network game"
  4. Click on the local server in the list
  5. Hit "Connect"
  6. Client is frozen
Strangely, there is no freeze if I don't click on the server in the list.

The client gets stuck with the following stack trace:

Code: Select all

#0  0x00007ffff76e540d in connect () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#1  0x00000000004afe94 in try_to_connect (username=<optimized out>, errbuf=<optimized out>, errbufsize=<optimized out>) at clinet.c:216
#2  0x00000000004afcce in connect_to_server (username=0x927d40 <user_name> "me", hostname=0x927b40 <server_host> "myhostname", port=5556,
    errbuf=0x7fffffffcff0 "", errbufsize=512) at clinet.c:258
#3  0x0000000000488aac in fc_client::slot_connect() ()
#4  0x000000000055dd58 in fc_client::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) ()
#5  0x00007ffff3f504e9 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQt5Core.so.5
#6  0x00007ffff3680142 in QAbstractButton::clicked(bool) () from /usr/lib/libQt5Widgets.so.5
… stuff from Qt below

Re: Qt Issue

Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:26 am
by louis94