HIDPI

You can get help here if Freeciv doesn't start on your computer, or if you keep getting fatal errors while playing etc.
metcarob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:37 pm

HIDPI

Postby metcarob » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:41 pm

I am trying to play freeciv on Ubunti 16.04 on a Dell XPS 15.
This has a hidpi screen.

I have tried both the QT and GTK2 versions of freeciv. Unfortunate everything is very tiny.
I have had to change various scaling factors and sizes to get other areas of ubuntu working with hidpi.
Is it possible to get freeciv usable in HIDPI? Does anyone know how this is achieved?

User avatar
mir3x
Veteran
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: HIDPI

Postby mir3x » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:40 pm

In Qt 5.5 u can try QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO=auto freeciv-qt
In Qt >= 5.6 try QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=1 freeciv-qt

if it works add this to environment or just to menu shortcut

edd
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:22 am

Re: HIDPI

Postby edd » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:07 am

The Gtk 3 client can also be scaled. I use

Code: Select all

env LANG=C.UTF-8 GDK_DPI_SCALE=0.60 GDK_SCALE=2 freeciv-gtk3
to run it, in my case I have high dpi (200) and no scaling configured otherwise.