Scenario and Network Game won't start

You can get help here if Freeciv doesn't start on your computer, or if you keep getting fatal errors while playing etc.
Fulger
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 1:30 pm

Scenario and Network Game won't start

Postby Fulger » Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:09 pm

Hey there,
me and a friend of mine wanna play via network.
We have both 2.5.5. and i am starting the freeciv-server.exe
I do this:

rulesetdir data/civ2civ3

and then i want to set the generator with:

/set generator scenario


But here is the Problem.
In German there is: /set: Sie können den Kartengenerator nicht ausschalten.
in English, it would be: You cannot deactivate the Map Generator. (or sth. like this)

What can i do?
How do i start a Game on the World Map via Network for 2 Players?
I looked and googled my problem, but i haven't found a solution.
Would be kind of you if you could help us :)
Cheers!

User avatar
mir3x
Veteran
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Scenario and Network Game won't start

Postby mir3x » Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:48 pm

Just:
/load scenario_name

eg:
/load earth

u have names in scenaros folder

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1725
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Scenario and Network Game won't start

Postby cazfi » Sun Nov 27, 2016 7:14 pm

Fulger wrote:
/set generator scenario


But here is the Problem.
in English, it would be: You cannot deactivate the Map Generator. (or sth. like this)

Setting generator to value 'scenario' effectively disables it, as then pre-made scenario map is expected. Either load a scenario with the map, or set genarator to some other (valid) value.