Page 1 of 1

Why Not?

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:30 pm
by Arbogast
Why I can not build a city here? I tried 3 times with no luck.

Re: Why Not?

Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 7:02 pm
by cazfi
Didn't it tell? My first guess would be that somebody else has already built city, that you don't see, too near.

Re: Why Not?

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:56 am
by GriffonSpade
cazfi wrote:Didn't it tell? My first guess would be that somebody else has already built city, that you don't see, too near.


Yes, very possibly your 'mincitydist' server setting. If it's set high, it can make it very easy to be unable to build due to another player you can't even see.

Re: Why Not?

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:08 pm
by Arbogast
No, no. I checked around before trying to build. All clear but when giving the 'B' command to build, nada. No error message, no comments from the server, nada.
Besides, the red city border indicates good placement, don't it?

Re: Why Not?

Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 5:13 pm
by cazfi
Arbogast wrote:Besides, the red city border indicates good placement, don't it?

As far as client (you, player) knows. But server is not allowing you to found the city.

Do you have savegame from which to reproduce?

Re: Why Not?

Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:46 am
by Arbogast
Ah sorry, I wonder if I can find it since I have been playing it. I will try... ;)

EDIT: Found it but it's weird. When replaying it to found the city, and it worked!
I think this is a minor glitch that has happened before and I think that it is just the server adding 1+1=0. LOL.
But thanks for your attention.
I'm including the turn where it happened, if it is any use.