Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

You can get help here if Freeciv doesn't start on your computer, or if you keep getting fatal errors while playing etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
belpir
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 am
Location: Czech Republic

Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by belpir »

Hello,
Is there any way how to compile and run freeciv-server without client section?
I woud like to provide my own freeciv server on linux, CLI only. I already own linux VPS (web, database and VPN services) without X. I want to install freeciv-server there.
I have tried several options, but everytime X11/GTK/Qt is required.

There is my ./configure:

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/usr/local/games --sysconfdir=/etc --enable-silent-rules --enable-fcdb=sqlite3 --enable-ipv6=no --enable-client=xaw
According to man, I have tried option "--enable-client=stub" but no change. every time I get error:

Code: Select all

...
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.7... yes
checking for GTK+ - version >= 2.12.0... no
*** Could not run GTK+ test program, checking why...
*** The test program failed to compile or link. See the file config.log for the
*** exact error that occurred. This usually means GTK+ is incorrectly installed.
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking for GTK+ - version >= 3.0.0... no
*** Could not run GTK+ test program, checking why...
*** The test program failed to compile or link. See the file config.log for the
*** exact error that occurred. This usually means GTK+ is incorrectly installed.
checking Qt5 headers... not found
configure: error: Cannot build modpack installer with any gui
...
All other dependencies have been met except Qt/GTK/X11.
I do not understand why these libs are required, when the option "--enable-client=auto/all/gtk2/gtk3/sdl/xaw/qt/stub[/code]" is set to xaw or stub ? No GTK/Qt .... If is there no chance to clientless server, I am willing to run minimalistic xaw client, but only without GTK/Qt installed to the server.

I also found option "--disable-server do not compile the server" but not "--disable-client" ... Is there any way how to install freeciv without client section?

Misc. info:

Freeciv latest stable release (2.5.4)
Debian 8 (amd64) linux - I want to compile it because Debian repos. provides only older releases.
I also have user auth to be enabled (sqlite)

Thank you
Regards
User avatar
belpir
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by belpir »

By the way.
I also tried:

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/usr/local/games --sysconfdir=/etc --enable-silent-rules  --enable-ipv6=no --enable-client=stub --disable-gtktest --disable-sdltest --disable-sdl2test --disable-freetypetest
But GTK/Qt is still required (without fcdb, with disable-gtktest ...) the error is the same.

Regards
User avatar
JTN
Elite
Posts: 473
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:15 am

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by JTN »

I think it's the modpack installer build that's pulling in GUI stuff in your build. You can control that with the --enable-fcmp configure option, e.g., --enable-fcmp=no.

Building the client can be disabled -- I've just done a built with --disable-client, and it looks like --enable-client=no would do the same thing. (Usually in configure scripts, if there's an --enable-foo you can also specify --disable-foo. The configure script help could probably be clearer that it's possible to disable the client.)

I've just done a 2.5.4 build with --disable-client --enable-fcmp=no and, while I haven't actually tried it in a GUI-library-free environment, I didn't see anything in the configure log suggesting that such libraries were sought.
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by cazfi »

In 2.5, --disable-client --disable-fcmp. In 2.6 also --disable-ruledit is needed.
User avatar
belpir
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by belpir »

Hello,
Confirm, it works ... its incredible .. thank you guys.
SOLVED

One last question ... I tried to compile freeciv acording to man pages, but there are no options like --disable-client ... So what is the preferred and actual manual for freeciv?

Thank you again,

Regards
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by cazfi »

For configure options:

Code: Select all

> ./configure --help
There's --disable-<option> where there is --enable-<option>, and --without-<option> when there's --with-<option>. That comes from the autoconf, and is no way specific thing to freeciv build, though there's some cases where there's no sensible implementation of --without-<option>.
User avatar
belpir
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Install freeciv-server only (clientless)

Post by belpir »

OK, thanks a lot.
Post Reply