weird bug with trireme class

You can get help here if Freeciv doesn't start on your computer, or if you keep getting fatal errors while playing etc.
Wahazar
Hardened
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:49 pm

weird bug with trireme class

Postby Wahazar » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:18 pm

I have two units, both belong to the Trireme class - can't go onto Deep Ocean tiles :
weirdbug.png

One unit (canoe) can't go to tile 36,5 (native coordinates, shallow Ocean), while another one (galley) go here without problems.
No idea, why such different behavior?
Save game attached (augmented2 modpack)
Attachments
weirdbug.sav.bz2
(151.51 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: weird bug with trireme class

Postby Caedo » Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:14 am

EDIT: Misunderstood the question; see Ignatus' answer below.
Last edited by Caedo on Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:53 am, edited 3 times in total.
~S.C. L.

Ignatus
Hardened
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: weird bug with trireme class

Postby Ignatus » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:19 am

Canoes have not only "Trireme" class that restricts units to shallow ocean, but also "Trireme" flag that restricts them to safe coastline. Galley has only the class.

Wahazar
Hardened
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: weird bug with trireme class

Postby Wahazar » Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:13 pm

Thanks for clarifications. So it is not a bug, just a feature. Interesting, so it is possible to make for example hovercraft capable to drive on land and along coast but not capable to go far from coast.