[COMPLETE] Downtime 9-10 August

New releases, projects, multiplayer games, etc.
User avatar
JTN
Elite
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:15 am

[COMPLETE] Downtime 9-10 August

Postby JTN » Sun Aug 06, 2017 12:00 pm

Most freeciv.org services will be unavailable for several hours on the night of 9 August, as the server hosting them is being moved to a new datacentre. Our hosts will conduct the move itself between 2030 UTC (2230 CEST) on Wed 9 August to 0400 UTC (0600 CEST) on Thu 10 August. We will be shutting down the server before the move, and I at least won't be awake to supervise at 0400, so it's best to treat the vulnerable period as being between 1900-1000 UTC.

Affected services (which will be entirely unavailable) include:
  • the Web version of Freeciv at play.freeciv.org
  • the metaserver for the standalone version, meta.freeciv.org
  • the main website and download server, www.freeciv.org and files.freeciv.org (the standalone version can still be downloaded from the Sourceforge mirror)
  • the file server used by the freeciv-modpack/mp tool, modpack.freeciv.org
  • this forum, forum.freeciv.org
The wiki, mailing lists, code hosting on Github, and bug tracker will not be affected.

It's possible that services will appear to return much earlier than the times above would indicate. If they're up after 0400 UTC (the end of our host's advertised moving period) then probably they'll stay up, but it would be better not to rely on this for anything critical before one of us has had a chance to have a look.

If it all goes horribly wrong, I'll post status updates on @freeciv twitter.

User avatar
JTN
Elite
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:15 am

Re: Downtime 9-10 August

Postby JTN » Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:02 am

Looks like everything came back by itself shortly after 0100 UT, and our hosts confirm that their work is complete.