Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Web version of freeciv at play.freeciv.org
User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby AndreasR » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:21 am

Your feedback on Freeciv-web is wanted, so I know what to focus further development and improvements on.
In order to make the game better, please post the most important things that you would like to see improved here.
If there are multiple things, then put them in a list with the most important things first. Thanks!

Elder Grendel
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby Elder Grendel » Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:21 pm

I've noticed a couple of things:

The first thing is that I think Freeciv-web is a completely awesome thing. Thanks. A lot.

On to the list of troubles, though...

Rather often in the second city I build there will be a number of tiles where the resource usage is not shown in the city display.

The other, rather serious issue, is that the game saves don't work after using the [Meet Player] button.
(This is mentioned in this thread, viewtopic.php?f=24&t=789 , which I have added a bit of information to.)

The Game Setup dialog box does not retain the changes to settings: Game title, Tech level, Landmass, Specials, City mindist, End turn, Score graphs, and Map generator.
The changes are set, but opening the Game Setup dialog a second time displays the default values rather then the previously entered values. This could cause great confusion for novice players or those who do not understand how the game setup works.

Oh, the other thing we have had an issue with is that, for some bizarre reason, on my son's low-memory old notebook machine, when he clicks the [Research] tab the machine lags terribly. Everything else works fine. It's just the Research tab.

The real show-stopper is the saved games issue. That's pretty nasty.

Thank you to those who created Freeciv-web. It's awesome!

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby AndreasR » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:55 am

Thanks for the feedback Elder Grendel. I have released a new version to the production server, which I think has solved the savegame issue, and showing city workers correctly near the map edges (map wrapping issue).

It would be nice if you could please test the new version, and verify that it has been improved. Thanks!

User avatar
dunnoob
Elite
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:13 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby dunnoob » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:53 am

AndreasR wrote:Your feedback on Freeciv-web is wanted

The tutorial on the Wiki looks great. Otherwise I'm not tempted to test another online game with mobile broadband; I was on Illyriad for a year, after about two weeks my 5 GB per month plan at an acceptable speed was eaten up, the rest of the month at modem/GPRS speed was a pain.

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby AndreasR » Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:03 am

Let's continue this thread: what should be improved in Freeciv-web now? Thanks to all for the feedback so far!

Lunchalot
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:31 am

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby Lunchalot » Thu May 05, 2016 4:38 am

I'm very happy to have found freeciv. I'm sure I have played every Sid Meier version there is and its nice to get back to the roots. One bug that has happened a couple times. Just now, for instance, I put 4 units into attack position next to an AI city and the AI attacked with an alpine troop who killed ALL 4 of my units on that square. Just one attack and the message was: "Riflemen and 3 other units lost to an attack from the Uzbec Alpine Troops."

Fortunately the save feature works so I'll go back a couple of turns and do things different, ie: do not stack troops as it doesn't work when AI attacks. There are a few other things that could be improved but this is the major fault I have found.

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby AndreasR » Thu May 05, 2016 8:34 pm

Lunchalot wrote:I'm very happy to have found freeciv. I'm sure I have played every Sid Meier version there is and its nice to get back to the roots. One bug that has happened a couple times. Just now, for instance, I put 4 units into attack position next to an AI city and the AI attacked with an alpine troop who killed ALL 4 of my units on that square. Just one attack and the message was: "Riflemen and 3 other units lost to an attack from the Uzbec Alpine Troops."

Fortunately the save feature works so I'll go back a couple of turns and do things different, ie: do not stack troops as it doesn't work when AI attacks. There are a few other things that could be improved but this is the major fault I have found.


Thanks for the feedback. I'm pretty sure that this is a game rule. Try googling for "Freeciv killstack", and see this forum thread.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1753
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby cazfi » Thu May 05, 2016 11:17 pm

Killstack is a ruleset option. Maybe we should change that for webperimental ruleset?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1753
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby cazfi » Thu May 05, 2016 11:20 pm

Even better. It's server option nowadays, so even user can change it. If freeciv-web UI does not provide way to change it, one can (in pre-game, before actually starting the game) change it via chat-line

Code: Select all

/set killstack disabled

Lunchalot
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:31 am

Re: Feedback on Freeciv-web wanted!

Postby Lunchalot » Fri May 06, 2016 2:58 am

Can anyone point me to a list of user options pre game, like the killstack option?

I would sure like to have bombard option, zoom in and out option, hover on enemy unit for stats option, click or hover on vacant tiles for stats, change colour of scrolling text in box, and toggle city names on and off to more easily see the terrain and action around the city.

These are just a few things on my wish list but the game is quite playable without them.