Page 2 of 2

Re: German States 1871

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:27 pm
by cazfi
XYZ wrote:I haven't been able to change the ruleset to "fcweb". I only get the message that the game has already started and that it's not possible anymore. How can I change it?

You wouldn't have that ruleset available on (desktop) freeciv even if it allowed to change ruleset of a running game. So I recommend keeping that change out of "master copy" of the scenario to keep it usable on freeciv, and only apply the change when ever porting the scenario to freeciv-web.

In practice you have to do that change manually, by editing (uncompressed) scenario file in text editor.

German States 1871

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:54 pm
by XYZ
Like this? Never done that before :D . Was recompressing it the right move?

Re: German States 1871

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:31 pm
by AndreasR
XYZ wrote:Like this? Never done that before :D . Was recompressing it the right move?


I had prepared almost everything in order to include the scenario, however, Freeciv-web is currently unable to load the scenario: loading the scenario results in a Freeciv server segmentation fault.


Code: Select all

program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0000000000566730 in style_of_nation ()
(gdb) bt

(gdb) bt
#0  0x0000000000566730 in style_of_nation ()
#1  0x000000000040ddd3 in player_nation_defaults ()
#2  0x000000000040ed2b in srv_ready ()
#3  0x000000000040f8b4 in srv_main ()
#4  0x0000000000406f74 in main ()
(gdb) bt full


I think this is because your scenario savegame is created for Freeciv 2.5, while Freeciv-web is based on the 2.6-development branch.
I'm not sure how to solve this, perhaps it will help to update your scenario to Freeciv from svn trunk?

Re: German States 1871

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:31 pm
by cazfi
AndreasR wrote:Freeciv-web is based on the 2.6-development branch.

Nope, last time I check you were not using (relatively stable) S2_6 but TRUNK. Currently TRUNK is a development branch for 3.0 (next thing to branch from TRUNK will be S3_0)

Stable savegame format should load to newer versions. I'll check the scenario.

Re: Colonial Africa Scenario

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:57 pm
by cazfi
bug #24435

btw. Would be it be ok if we made desktop freeciv version of the scenario available via the modpack installer, in the default modpack list shown when you launch the tool?

Re: Colonial Africa Scenario

Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:10 pm
by XYZ
btw. Would be it be ok if we made desktop freeciv version of the scenario available via the modpack installer, in the default modpack list shown when you launch the tool?


Sure!

Re: Colonial Africa Scenario

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:14 pm
by cazfi
License information? GPLv2+, like most modpacks? ('+' denoting "or any later version - as chosen by the licensee")

German States 1871

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:16 pm
by XYZ
License information? GPLv2+, like most modpacks? ('+' denoting "or any later version - as chosen by the licensee")


What ever you think is best! I made some small final changes. Thanks!

Re: Colonial Africa Scenario

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:56 am
by cazfi
German States 1871 (version 1.5) is now available from modpack installer for freeciv-2.5.

- Having Rivers implemented using Lake terrains has a downside that the "Lake flooding" feature may kick in. In most rulesets, when terrain change makes saltwater tile to touch freshwater tile (the land tile between ocean and a lake gets turned to ocean tile), saltwater terrain floods the freshwater lake. I've added a ticket about new feature to freeciv-2.6 for scenarios to disabled this flooding functionality: patch #6994.

- Experimental AI difficulty is the same as Hard AI, except that developers can make it different for local experiments. In 2.6 the whole 'experimental' AI will be available in debug-enabled freeciv builds only.

Re: Colonial Africa Scenario

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:00 pm
by XYZ
Perfect, thank you for the help!