How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Web version of freeciv at play.freeciv.org
LucasHudson
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:21 pm

How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby LucasHudson » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:45 pm

I don't know if it is possible but is there a way of making the large TSL earth map playable on multiplayer as a few of my friends want to play it

Also I have noticed that some civs start in the wrong location. For example Portugal starts in eastern Asia Spain starts in Eastern USA and the celts start in France on the large earth map. Also why can't you play as Britain!!! :(

Anyway I hope you fix these bugs and tell me how to make the Large TSL earth map on multiplayer if it is possible :)

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby AndreasR » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:51 pm

Which scenario are you playing? Is it "The World - Large world map, 160x90 map of the Earth" on Freeciv-web?

LucasHudson
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby LucasHudson » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:55 pm

Yes it is the Large world map that is placing those countries in the wrong places and the one that I want to play with my friends on multiplayer if possible

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby AndreasR » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:13 pm

LucasHudson wrote:Yes it is the Large world map that is placing those countries in the wrong places and the one that I want to play with my friends on multiplayer if possible


There are two issues:
1. I have now fixed so that you can play as the British. This was because the scenario didn't have 'nationset all'. Please try this again and it should work on the live server now.

2. The scenario The World - Large world map, 160x90 map of the Earth , filename "earth-160x90-v2" only has starting positions for about 39 nations, not all of them. Someone would have to contribute starting positions to the scenario.

LucasHudson
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby LucasHudson » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:19 pm

Ok thanks!!! I wont be able to share the starting positions as I don't know how ,being a new player but I hope that will be fixed later.

Also is there anyway to play the Large World Map 160x90 map scenario on multiplayer?

NateDogPack12
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:17 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby NateDogPack12 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:27 pm

(1) - How do we contribute starting locations to any scenario - online or offline?

(2) - How do we set up any Earth map in Civ 2 multiplayer?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1559
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby cazfi » Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:34 pm

NateDogPack12 wrote:(1) - How do we contribute

In theory answer should be here: http://www.freeciv.org/wiki/How_to_Contribute
However, gna.org is already down and we've not yet finalized move to the new hosting nor updated that wiki page accordingly.

NateDogPack12
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:17 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby NateDogPack12 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 10:13 pm

Is there anyway to see what civs have accurate starting positions?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1559
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby cazfi » Sun Jun 04, 2017 7:11 am

NateDogPack12 wrote:Is there anyway to see what civs have accurate starting positions?

For earth-160x90 scenario following starting positions are defined (taken from master of freeciv - I think freeciv-web uses it without any modifications)

Code: Select all

startpos={"x","y","exclude","nations"
82,24,FALSE,"Mongol"
2,52,FALSE,"Taino"
43,67,FALSE,"Zulu"
30,27,FALSE,"Celtic"
155,62,FALSE,"Inca"
145,21,FALSE,"Inuit"
81,32,FALSE,"Chinese"
37,25,FALSE,"German"
92,24,FALSE,"Manchu"
98,71,FALSE,"Australian Aboriginal"
87,32,FALSE,"Korean"
142,31,FALSE,"Sioux"
35,32,FALSE,"Roman"
31,36,FALSE,"Carthaginian"
76,47,FALSE,"Khmer"
25,45,FALSE,"Mali"
138,38,FALSE,"Apache"
49,22,FALSE,"Russian"
3,68,FALSE,"Guarani"
12,61,FALSE,"Tupi"
155,77,FALSE,"Mapuche"
41,34,FALSE,"Greek"
154,29,FALSE,"Iroquois"
95,35,FALSE,"Japanese"
150,35,FALSE,"Cherokee"
142,44,FALSE,"Aztec"
41,40,FALSE,"Egyptian"
77,57,FALSE,"Indonesian"
62,21,FALSE,"Tatar"
147,46,FALSE,"Mayan"
34,56,FALSE,"Kongo"
56,36,FALSE,"Persian"
45,47,FALSE,"Ethiopian"
50,43,FALSE,"Arab"
63,31,FALSE,"Turkish"
98,58,FALSE,"Polynesian"
29,22,FALSE,"English"
64,41,FALSE,"Indian"
37,15,FALSE,"Viking"
}

Rhue
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:11 am

Re: How to set up the large true start location earth map on multiplayer?

Postby Rhue » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:13 am

I can map them all, but I understand it's not possible to contribute patches yet?

A longturn game on a giant earth map with true starting positions would be really fun.