The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Web version of freeciv at play.freeciv.org
Constantine Willing
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 9:15 am

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby Constantine Willing » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:58 am

No luck for me I'm afraid, my aerial units still wont leave the city they were produced in.

Can I ask will the fix apply to saved games? Or will saved games inherit this and new games moving forward will be OK?

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby sveinung » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:42 pm

Constantine Willing wrote:No luck for me I'm afraid, my aerial units still wont leave the city they were produced in.

Let us find out it your save game case anyone else the same problems it causes you. Please upload a copy of your save game (Manage save games -> Download). What unit should be moved? What tile should it be moved to? How should it be moved? Arrow keys? Keypad? Pressing "g" and clicking the target tile? Trying to drag it?

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:21 pm

sveinung wrote:
Constantine Willing wrote:No luck for me I'm afraid, my aerial units still wont leave the city they were produced in.

Let us find out it your save game case anyone else the same problems it causes you. Please upload a copy of your save game (Manage save games -> Download). What unit should be moved? What tile should it be moved to? How should it be moved? Arrow keys? Keypad? Pressing "g" and clicking the target tile? Trying to drag it?


I think this is a bug in Freeciv-web affecting all air units. For example, start a new game with techlevel 100, and build a stealth fighter.
You will then be able to reproduce that goto doesn't work for the stealth fighter. Moving the air units using the arrow keys works correctly, but the goto command does not work. This is a bug in Freeciv-web.

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby sveinung » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:35 am

AndreasR wrote:
sveinung wrote:
Constantine Willing wrote:No luck for me I'm afraid, my aerial units still wont leave the city they were produced in.

Let us find out it your save game case anyone else the same problems it causes you. Please upload a copy of your save game (Manage save games -> Download). What unit should be moved? What tile should it be moved to? How should it be moved? Arrow keys? Keypad? Pressing "g" and clicking the target tile? Trying to drag it?


I think this is a bug in Freeciv-web affecting all air units. For example, start a new game with techlevel 100, and build a stealth fighter.
You will then be able to reproduce that goto doesn't work for the stealth fighter. Moving the air units using the arrow keys works correctly, but the goto command does not work. This is a bug in Freeciv-web.


Thank you for the instructions, Andreas. I'm finally able to reproduce the issue. A nuclear missile outside a city didn't trigger it. A Stealth Fighter inside a city did.

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:52 pm

sveinung wrote:Thank you for the instructions, Andreas. I'm finally able to reproduce the issue. A nuclear missile outside a city didn't trigger it. A Stealth Fighter inside a city did.


The fix from Sveinung which fixes goto for air units has been pushed to production. Very clever fix to this from Sveinung, thanks a lot!


Andreas

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:20 am

A new version of Freeciv-web has been pushed to the production server today. Please report any bugs you might find!

Andreas

User avatar
Align
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:53 am

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby Align » Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:57 am

My Engineers seem to forget their terraform orders on loading a savegame.

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:10 pm

A new version of Freeciv-web has been pushed to the production server. For a list of changes, see github.

Align, sorry about that, it was a side-effect of the upgrade.

auth.gabor
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby auth.gabor » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:24 pm

Hi,

The Freeciv Web (org.freeciv.play) Android application is based on the Freeciv-web source code?

Bye,
Gábor Auth

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 701
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Thu Sep 03, 2015 6:48 pm

auth.gabor wrote:Hi,

The Freeciv Web (org.freeciv.play) Android application is based on the Freeciv-web source code?

Bye,
Gábor Auth


Hi Gábor,
The Freeciv-web android application is just a simple web wrapper app which brings up a web browser to play.freeciv.org. So it is a separate code base from Freeciv-web. So are you perhaps interested in becoming a contributor to Freeciv-web?

Andreas