The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Web version of freeciv at play.freeciv.org
sveinung
Elite
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: Traderoutes... more issues

Postby sveinung » Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:50 pm

AndreasR wrote:I'm no expert on traderoutes, perhaps Sveinung can fill in the details. Search for "Max_Trade_Routes" in the effects.ruleset:
https://github.com/freeciv/freeciv-web/ ... ts.ruleset

You instructions are correct.

uruiamme wrote:Should I get 3 or 4 Traderoutes per city? I need to know. Before some of the game updates, I know for a fact I was using 4. In the current game, I seem to be limited to 3. Did the server rules change? 3 versus 4 routes makes a big difference in income sometimes.

I'm assuming that you are using the fcweb ruleset. If you follow the instructions AndreasR gave you will find three rules.
  • You should get 2 trade routes pr city.
  • If you know the tech Magnetism you will get 1 extra trade route pr city.
  • If you know the tech The Corporation you will get 1 extra trade route pr city.
A player that knows Magnetism and The Corporation will therefore get (2 + 1 + 1 =) 4 trade routes pr city.

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: Caravan Test game

Postby sveinung » Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:36 pm

uruiamme wrote:Caravan test. Try loading this game, which is attached. See if you can figure out why the traderoutes aren't being established.

Thank you for the savegame. Both cities you are trying to establish a trade route to already have 2 trade routes. That is currently max. You are one research point away from being allowed an extra trade route.

uruiamme
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:05 am

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby uruiamme » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:55 am

28. The mouseover code for DARWIN's VOYAGE is not descriptive in the Production screen. It just says "Charles Darwin."

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 702
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:37 pm

uruiamme wrote:28. The mouseover code for DARWIN's VOYAGE is not descriptive in the Production screen. It just says "Charles Darwin."


I have fixed this now, and pushed to production. I have also added a keyboard shortcut for show and hide of the citybar which is Ctrl-C.

What is the next important thing to improve in Freeciv-web, and how do you suggest I fix it?

Andreas

uruiamme
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:05 am

Just more issues

Postby uruiamme » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:22 am

29. There is another GOTO bug. When a unit is told to GOTO someplace and it will take it multiple turns to get there, it is frequently left as the active unit ... with 0 movement points. I think this is a bug... It should probably highlight the next unit with movement points left. I just have to tell it (J) no orders or (W)ait to get to the next unit because I want its GOTO to complete after this turn has ended.

30. GOTO canceling. If I need to change a unit's destination and they are in the middle of a multiple-turn GOTO, there is a problem. I can't get them to stop and go somewhere else. When I click on a unit who has the "G" next to them, I think maybe their GOTO should be canceled if I tell them (with the directional keys for example) to go somewhere else. They seem to continue on the old GOTO route unless I use the GOTO command again, or tell them to Sentry. In other words, such a unit will have 0 movement points left, so any movement they do will need to be forced to a new turn. It would be nice to be able to hit ESC key or something and cancel their GOTO. Is there a cancel command? It seems like there is constant questions about the old Civilization mindset that has so many things take multiple turns.... like if you click a unit who is taking 24 turns to change a terrain, will it stop? AAAH, no!! To me, all we need is a definite CANCEL command. It would work for:
  1. Canceling a Goto that I was thinking about beginning, but decided not.
  2. Canceling a Goto that has already begun.
  3. Canceling a Paradrop that I was thinking about.
  4. Canceling a move that the server warns will attack an opponent.
  5. Canceling an irrigation/road/terrain change so I don't worry about accidentally click-canceling it.
  6. During a battle, a unit sometimes moves to weird places due to Zone of Control. I want to sometimes cancel this "forced goto retreat" with the cancel command.
  7. Sometimes a unit is told to do something with 0 movement points, or sometimes it happens with less than the movement points needed to go someplace. This also puts them in a "Goto" with a G next to them that needs to be quickly undone.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby cazfi » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:37 am

The first step in movement (/goto) handling changes would be getting patch #5729 activated in freeciv-web too. It's currently reverted from the server there as it would require changes freeciv-web specific parts of the server (patches that get applied to server on freeciv-web env). Sveinung?

uruiamme
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:05 am

Summary of Issues

Postby uruiamme » Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:59 pm

AndreasR wrote:What is the next important thing to improve in Freeciv-web, and how do you suggest I fix it?
Andreas

First, Background info links:

Maybe you could look at issues in chunks and pick a category of ideas to work with?

Here is my new summary of issues... See especially Bold ones:
  • Active unit issues and bugs, Unit Window tweaks: #2, #15, #22, #24, #29, These are issues dealing with the order of active units and how the Unit window appears.
  • GOTO gameplay: I also sort of combined #13 with #23, #29, and #30 that have to do with GOTO.
  • Miscellaneous: See #17, #18, #14, #27, #5, #6, #12 (UPGRADE CONFIRMATION, Settler City Size, Automatic Workers, Nation borders, Action Menu, End of Turn centering, City renaming with a %20 character)
  • Production screen issues and improvements: #25, #16, #19, #20. I'd like to see more and better information in this window. I think the regular game shows you which units are being "supported" by this city. This support I am finding out takes shields from a city I guess, which is hard to calculate. Nowhere does this screen tell you how many shields per turn go to the building of a unit/buuilding, and it definitely never seems to change the screen much when I make a change to the land that is being worked. These calculations seem to be made at the end of a turn.
  • Traderoutes: Can the server tell the player why a traderoute cannot be established? Like not enough slots or too far? See #26 and discussion.
  • #9, The big "Undo" command!! This is related to the "Cancel" command mentioned with GOTO issues.
  • #8, HTML saving the screen location of window things.

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby sveinung » Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:00 pm

cazfi wrote:The first step in movement (/goto) handling changes would be getting patch #5729 activated in freeciv-web too. It's currently reverted from the server there as it would require changes freeciv-web specific parts of the server (patches that get applied to server on freeciv-web env). Sveinung?

I started to work on this in a private branch. It needs JSON array read support. Currently my plan is to wait for patch #5937 and then have another look.

User avatar
AndreasR
Elite
Posts: 702
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Norway

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby AndreasR » Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:04 pm

I have pushed a new version to the production server, with a refactored city dialog. It should fix bug #25 and hopefully make the city dialog more user-friendly.

Andreas

mooreinstore
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:00 pm
Location: Bradley, Illinois
Contact:

Re: The big Freeciv-web feedback and suggestions thread

Postby mooreinstore » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:10 pm

Now that the city dialogue has been changed, how do I buy units and city improvements and wonders?