How I can take only european countries?

Can't beat the AI? Is it too tame? Discuss the best strategies!
ipilowe
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:24 am
Location: Finland

How I can take only european countries?

Postby ipilowe » Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:03 pm

Is it possible to take only european or ancient etc. group, where from game only takes countries randomly for bots and me? It bothers me when I am english and my enemy is someone alien. :P

Sarilho1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:02 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: How I can take only european countries?

Postby Sarilho1 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:15 pm

In older versions, if you chose a nation from a group, the others nations would be also nations from that group. In this new version I don't know if it works in the same way.

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: How I can take only european countries?

Postby Caedo » Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:48 am

I'm pretty sure it does. In the ruleset file, every nation group has a likelyhood factor for picking a nation of the group if one has already been picked. Though, some nations are in multiple groups, so it's never absolutely sure.
~ A.V. L.

User avatar
HanduMan
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:14 am

Re: How I can take only european countries?

Postby HanduMan » Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:20 am

You can hand-pick a nation for yourself and all the AI's if you want. On the starting screen, right-click on the player to open a context menu with lots of choises, including Pick nation.

EDIT: Or you can modify the nations.ruleset file and remove all unwanted nations from there.