Largest Map Size Possible

Can't beat the AI? Is it too tame? Discuss the best strategies!
TheNerd
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:17 am

Largest Map Size Possible

Postby TheNerd » Fri May 08, 2020 1:44 pm

Is it possible to get a map with tile size 2048? If I select ISO or HEX it tells me that the map is too large. If I un-select ISO And HEX it says "set topology "WRAPX" but sits there and never does anything. I do see that freeciv-server is using 15% cpu so maybe I need to wait a long time for the map to generate?

I was able to set size 444 using ISO but it seems to just sit there forever as well. Freeciv-server still using 15% cpu.

Maybe I will have my answer before I get a reply?

Thanks!
TheNerd

TheNerd
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Largest Map Size Possible

Postby TheNerd » Fri May 08, 2020 4:17 pm

Well I answered part of my question. I created a game at 400 size and it took about 1hr 15 -20 mins to generate :)

djconklin
Veteran
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:45 pm

Re: Largest Map Size Possible

Postby djconklin » Mon Jan 25, 2021 1:46 am

I've too have been wondering what the largest map size I can get. I finally got the game to work, but I still don't know if it is the largest I can get.

User avatar
Dino the Dinosore
Veteran
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:41 am

Re: Largest Map Size Possible

Postby Dino the Dinosore » Fri Jan 29, 2021 2:51 am

Maybe you should consider a career as a QA tester :D They get paid to push the limits.

Wonder what happens if you put the max # of players (= 150) on the smallest map?

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Largest Map Size Possible

Postby Caedo » Fri Jan 29, 2021 11:08 am

Dino the Dinosore wrote:Wonder what happens if you put the max # of players (= 150) on the smallest map?

If I had to guess, probably "couldn't find start positions for everyone"
~ A.V. L.