Channging default save game location

Can't beat the AI? Is it too tame? Discuss the best strategies!
Unknown
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:18 pm

Channging default save game location

Postby Unknown » Mon Nov 16, 2015 6:14 am

Is it possible to change the autosave location?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1713
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby cazfi » Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:31 pm

If you want to run everything directly from the client, there's no way to change the savegame location, but...

1) Savegame location is controlled by server commandline parameter
2) When client spawns internal server for itself to use, it gives the server that savegame location you're seeing
3) There's no way to change how client launches server

But if you run server separately/independently, and just "Connect to Network Game" client to it, you can launch the server yourself such a way that savegames end to different directory.

Code: Select all

> freeciv-server --help
Encodings: Data=UTF-8, Local=UTF-8, Internal=UTF-8
This is the server for Freeciv version 2.90.99-dev
You can learn a lot about Freeciv at http://www.freeciv.org/
Usage: freeciv-server [option ...]
Valid option are:
  -A, --Announce PROTO  Announce game in LAN using protocol PROTO (IPv4/IPv6/none)
  -B, --Bind-meta ADDR  Connect to metaserver from this address
  -b, --bind ADDR       Listen for clients on ADDR
  -d, --debug NUM       Set debug log level (0 to 4, or 4:file1,min,max:...)
  -e, --exit-on-end     When a game ends, exit instead of restarting
  -F, --Fatal [SIGNAL]  Raise a signal on failed assertion
  -f, --file FILE       Load saved game FILE
  -h, --help            Print a summary of the options
  -i, --identity ADDR   Be known as ADDR at metaserver or LAN client
  -l, --log FILE        Use FILE as logfile
  -M, --Metaserver ADDR Set ADDR as metaserver address
  -m, --meta            Notify metaserver and send server's info
  -p, --port PORT       Listen for clients on port PORT
  -q, --quitidle TIME   Quit if no players for TIME seconds
  -R, --Ranklog FILE    Use FILE as ranking logfile
  -r, --read FILE       Read startup script FILE
  -S, --Serverid ID     Sets the server id to ID
  -s, --saves DIR       Save games to directory DIR
  -v, --version         Print the version number
      --scenarios DIR   Save scenarios to directory DIR
Report bugs at http://gna.org/projects/freeciv/

Unknown
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:18 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby Unknown » Tue Nov 17, 2015 5:56 am

Thank You for the help.

djconklin
Veteran
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:45 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby djconklin » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:03 pm

Where does the game save the saved games? I want to go back to an older game but I can't find the saved game files. I need to know the actual location of the saved game files--not to browse.

Jim-11
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:28 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby Jim-11 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:44 am

In my Win 7 x64, the Freeciv games are saved to:
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\.freeciv\Saves

I don't need to change the save location, but it is handy to be able to delete, rename, copy or move saved files. To do that easily, I right click the \.freeciv\Saves save folder, drag to the desktop, and then select create a shortcut. I can then double click the shortcut and do whatever I like with the saved files.

djconklin
Veteran
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:45 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby djconklin » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:32 am

I don't see a folder named "appdata"--how do I turn that on?

Unknown
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:18 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby Unknown » Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:50 am

Goto Folder Option and enable Show hidden files and folder option under View tab.

djconklin
Veteran
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:45 pm

Re: Channging default save game location

Postby djconklin » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:54 pm

Thank you!