Page 1 of 2

How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:47 am
by BOBAH1
how to play here? I have 15 years of civilizing. But off-line. I don't know how it online version all works.

Here I downloaded the client. Open network game. That means three servers working? But why do so many players declared? Apparently this dead game going?
ACDSee BMP Image.jpg

Went to the first server, chose the Aztecs. Now I go second server, and I again slip of the Aztecs! How to choose another nation?

And to normally play, it is necessary to agree in advance here - on this website?

Re: How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:03 am
by BOBAH1
start.jpg

also, when i start the game, i have this error:
error.jpg

Re: How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:26 pm
by Wahazar
This error is not harmful AFAIK, probably you have outdated version of Windows, I have same error in WinXP.
I can't help with regular multiplayer games, they are too fast for me, I prefer longturn games :)

Re: How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:23 pm
by Akechi
BOBAH1 wrote:also, when i start the game, i have this error:

You need newer dbghelp.dll in C:\Windows\System32 directory maybe, but I prefer Freeciv installed directory instead. (maybe an unnecessary worry)
dbghelp.dll is contained from Debugging Tools for Windows,
and Debugging Tools for Windows is contained from Windows SDK.
Latest Windows SDK for Windows XP is Microsoft Windows SDK for Windows 7 and .NET Framework 4.

According to this documents, to install this version of Windows SDK, you need to uninstall all version of Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable first.

When SDK installing, check Common Utilities -> Debugging Tools for Windows.

When Debugging Tools installed, copy C:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\dbghelp.dll to Freeciv installed directory (e.g. C:\Program Files\Freeciv-2.6.0-gtk3\).

If you uninstalled Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable, then reinstall them.

Re: How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:24 pm
by BOBAH1
oh, this error is understandable, thx.
*
But what to do with the servers. They are now only two? And where is there to negotiate about the game; where on this site to look for human-players.
*
What is the difference between regular multiplayer games and longturn games? Longturn is also with humans in this freeciv?

Re: How?

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:16 pm
by Ignatus
https://freeciv.wikia.com/wiki/Longturn
Also not much in net playing, but Freeciv has ingame chat; for pregame state, just open the options dialog and change something to initiate voting (if enabled on the server). Latest voted option is appearing below the main area, previous ones, if still not resolved, are accessible by typing /vote number opinion or something (consult the server manual for commands).

Re: How?

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 6:26 am
by BOBAH1
Ignatus wrote:https://freeciv.wikia.com/wiki/Longturn
Also not much in net playing, but Freeciv has ingame chat; for pregame state, just open the options dialog and change something to initiate voting (if enabled on the server). Latest voted option is appearing below the main area, previous ones, if still not resolved, are accessible by typing /vote number opinion or something (consult the server manual for commands).

thanks. So right during the game can change the t/o ?

Re: How?

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:00 am
by BOBAH1
Now I downloaded 2.5.10. And I think, i look in the old version is more plays! But now start new first 2.6 tournament... http://longturn.org/game/LT47/

Re: How?

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:56 am
by BOBAH1
and old 2.5.10 (GTK2+2 Client) have error at me. When i drag-stretch a window "connect to meta-server", the program crashes, pre-hanging and taking a lot of computer memory.
ACDSee BMP Image.jpg
error 2.5.10 GTK+2 Client
ACDSee BMP Image.jpg (44.27 KiB) Viewed 1660 times

in the game the same. When you try to stretch.
ACDSee BMP Image 22.jpg
error error 2.5.10 GTK+2 Client

error-file:
2022_appcompat.txt
file error
(51.22 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

in both cases, the files of error are identical
ACDSee BMP Image 33.jpg
err


in 2.6.0 i NOT have this error!

Re: How?

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:07 am
by Akechi
BOBAH1 wrote:and old 2.5.10 (GTK2+2 Client) have error at me. When i drag-stretch a window "connect to meta-server", the program crashes, pre-hanging and taking a lot of computer memory.
in the game the same. When you try to stretch.
It is fixed at Freeciv 2.5.11.
http://freeciv.wikia.com/wiki/NEWS-2.5.11
http://freeciv.wikia.com/wiki/Old_downloads