Windows testing

Can you help improve your favourite game? Hardcore C mages, talented artists, and players with any level of experience are welcome!
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:25 am

cazfi wrote:3) Simultaneously with the networking code updates I've been trying to get freeciv to build on msys2 based system. Msys2 based solution are going to be experimental for a long time, but there also IPv6 works.

The very first msys2 based test build, made from freeciv S2_6 revision 32059.
- Only gtk3-client available
- NLS (Natural Language Support = Translations) disabled.
- Audio support disabled
- ImageMagick disabled -> some image formats not available when generating mapimg
- Readline support disabled -> server features like command history or autocompletion not available

http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... -setup.exe

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Should have posted this here when it was made:
cazfi wrote:There's now first Windows test build after freezing the formats available from http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... ha-r32366/

This build is msys1 based one. The msys1 is the system used for building official freeciv releases.

I'm about to start a new thread about msys2 bases experiments, to avoid the situation that no reader knows what kind of build one is talking about in any given post of this thread.

Also related: I've created page to list Windows test builds I'm about to make in near future: http://www.cazfi.net/freeciv/winbuilds.html

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:26 pm

There's a new msys1 Windows Installer build from S2_5 branch r32400. This build already contains most of the fixes that eventual 2.5.4 release is expected to have: http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... .3+r32400/

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:57 pm

Here's an attempt for WinXP compatible build from S2_6. Let me know if it works or not. http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... ha+r32414/

User avatar
Arbogast
Elite
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:09 am
Location: France

Re: Windows testing

Postby Arbogast » Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:14 pm

"Muchas Gracias Caballero!"

(El Zorro)

Edited next day:

It works just fine :D

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:40 pm

Arbogast wrote:It works just fine :D

Good, then I'll make more of such builds as S2_6 progress. There's quite a lot of Windows-specific and rather critical changes going in as adjustments for getting msys2 builds to work are made. There's continuous need to test that those changes have not broken msys1 builds.
I actually have regular msys1 build from S2_6 in progress while I'm writing this, and if everything goes as planned, I'll make WinXP compatible build from the very same freeciv revision tomorrow.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:10 am

Vista+ msys1 build from S2_6 r32464: http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... ha+r32464/

There has been several rather fundamental Windows-specific changes since previous build.
Setting Worker Tasks should now be fully functional feature in gtk3-client, not yet available in any other client. Right click in the city dialog map to open menu for a tile (there can be one task/tile). Also set suitable number of workers/settlers to autosettler-mode - those under direct human control do not care about the worker tasks set for a city.

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Windows testing

Postby Caedo » Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:18 am

Three things:
Firstly, the gtk3 client finally works more or less properly for me. Is it intended that most of the UI is now gray instead of beige?
Secondly, the Worker Tasks feature is AWESOME! I've been looking for something like this for a long time now. Good job, guys!
What would be nice would be if the actions that are currently being performed on a tile were shown in the city dialog as well (or if the task is only removed once the action is completed instead of when it's started).
Thirdly, it seems the gtk3 client can't work with fullscreen mode outside a running game: All I'm left with after leaving a game is a small window without a frame, so I can't resize, minimize or even move it.

EDIT:
Fourthly, the unit graphics in the city production dialog are blurred. They're fine everywhere else.
Fifthly, trying to select an area (right-click&drag) causes an assertion failure in cairo-win32-surface.c, line 1485. Nothing game breaking since I don't use it, just annoying when I'm scrolling and accidentally drag a bit and immediately a message box pops up.
~S.C. L.

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Windows testing

Postby cazfi » Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:00 pm

cazfi wrote:Vista+ msys1 build from S2_6 r32464: http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... ha+r32464/

There has been several rather fundamental Windows-specific changes since previous build.
Setting Worker Tasks should now be fully functional feature in gtk3-client, not yet available in any other client. Right click in the city dialog map to open menu for a tile (there can be one task/tile). Also set suitable number of workers/settlers to autosettler-mode - those under direct human control do not care about the worker tasks set for a city.

And the build from same sources with WinXP-compatibility: http://download.gna.org/freeciv/package ... ha+r32464/

User avatar
Arbogast
Elite
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:09 am
Location: France

Re: Windows testing

Postby Arbogast » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:32 pm

Sorry to inform:
* r21464 launches OK but queries to the server -the / thing. It throws you back to the very first window.
* it doesn't accepts either the 'choose nation' in its window. Same result.
* Something that I didn't quite understand just hangs the game with 'program does not answer'.

*r32414 doesn't go beyond the DOS prompt. It did work OK a couple times.

Bummer!