Civ V

What would you like to see in Freeciv? Do you have a good idea what should be improved or how?
Prof_Birch

Civ V

Post by Prof_Birch »

Freeciv already has the major underpinnings for switching to a Civ V style layout, most notably the ability to use Hex tiles. Is there anything stopping a person from making tile sets, themes and sounds to bring freeciv up to date? To me I feel like its just a matter of preventing stacked units, and overhauling graphics (can we upload moving graphics?) but I am not experienced with it.

I would certainly be happy to contribute if it's feasible, but does that go against the whole underlying game engine?

I see there is a debate about things like deathstacks, but even something as simple as a graphics and UI overhaul could go a long way.

Also, what about adding a religion element?
Lachu
Elite

Re: Civ V

Post by Lachu »

There's a work to bring support for 3D graphics. Freeciv-Web client allows to play with 3D graphics. Making game CivV compatible will be probably a big task - there's no city-states support, puppet-cities nor moving units across the river without transport, etc.

You must know, that adding missing is not only think to have to done before announce full CivV compatibility, because there will exist new AI problems. I can tell, I am creating my own game based on Freeciv, but I tend to not support playing with AI.
Ignatus
Elite

Re: Civ V

Post by Ignatus »