3D globe map

What would you like to see in Freeciv? Do you have a good idea what should be improved or how?
nicemicro
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:40 pm

3D globe map

Postby nicemicro » Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:52 pm

Hi guys!

I've been traveling worldwide a lot, and got interested about maps and stuff.
I'm curious if it would be possible (It would be hard work, at the least) to create a version with not a flat-but-wrapped map, but a real, 3D globe. I'm even trying to find strategy games that work this way, but couldn't.

There are some good stuff I found on the Internet concerning stuff like this (https://github.com/vraid/earthgen-old seems to be very nice).

I am very curios about the opinion of those who understand the 'soul' of Freeciv better. But I find it a very exotic, new function that definitely has a lot of challenges in itself.

sveinung
Elite
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:50 pm

Re: 3D globe map

Postby sveinung » Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:57 pm

There have been discussions about how add a globe map in the past. I'm not aware of any currently ongoing work to add support for spherical maps.

GriffonSpade
Elite
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:41 pm

Re: 3D globe map

Postby GriffonSpade » Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:55 pm

I personally just wish for some kind of northpole / southpole wrapping. Not north TO south poles, but if you go 'up' on the north pole, it taking you half way around the world to the other side of the north pole. For example, if I go north from canada, I should pop up in northern russia. Coordinate terms: If map size is 100x100y, then going north from 0x0y should take me to 50x0y. (Going South would just go to 0x1y as normal)

BrentBoyer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:21 pm

Re: 3D globe map

Postby BrentBoyer » Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:18 pm

it sounds easy. it would be nice. large maps with 50+AI make using that little map in the corner work. i end up losing interest in where i am in the world. i want to be interested in where im at.

Lachu
Veteran
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: 3D globe map

Postby Lachu » Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:42 am

So you would like to put map into circle, so north/south pole are smaller than centric of map. Am I right?

DrGuyPhD
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 12:22 pm

Re: 3D globe map

Postby DrGuyPhD » Sun Feb 05, 2017 12:28 pm

What could be done is to use map server software like PostGIS (http://www.postgis.net/), which can handle those sort of data well. If we could get it to generate a world using a tectonic model, that would be even better!


Return to “Wishlist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest