Civ5 Ruleset and New Community Graphics+Sounds

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
ExeVirus

Civ5 Ruleset and New Community Graphics+Sounds

Post by ExeVirus »

Hello everyone, I'm very new to freeciv, and have been diving
deep into the source code and rulesets for a couple of weeks now :geek:...

Goals of the Freeciv-Neo Project

1. To create a new Ruleset for Freeciv that defines gameplay very similar to Civilization 5, with social policies, zone of control, un-stacked units, science gain, national unique units/buildings, unit promotions (as opposed to veterancy), religion (stretch goal), great people and associated tile improvements.

1-a. I will, if all goes as planned, attempt to make an AI specifically for this ruleset, though it will be complicated and new territory for me.

2. To create a truly HD tileset with 256x256 dimensions using automated capture methods combined with the Amazing 0.A.D. project.

The summary of this method is that I will be using Their built-in scripting console to auto-generate a map with every terrain tile (mountains, hills, etc) and every unit (I would add in missing units like anything past medieval times, and capture them from all 8 angles with screenshot tools built-in and autohotkey. Once this process of capture is complete, I will be writing a simple C++ (SDL) program that takes those screenshots and auto-cuts them into 256x256 squares. From there, a second program will take the 256x256 squares and auto-cut them into Hex, ISO-HEX, etc. tileshapes, and stitch them together into spritesheets able to be read by freeciv. At that point, likely, I will also create an auto-generated definition file for the generated tilesheets, allowing future customization.

All of these tools as well as a video tutorial (stretch goal) will be made available for you all to use.