Add nations: problem

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
KTPtheKing
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:14 am

Add nations: problem

Postby KTPtheKing » Fri Feb 21, 2020 2:49 pm

Hi and thank you very much for your great job.
I have encountered some problems trying to introduce a customized nation in the game.
What I did:
1. added line

Code: Select all

*include "nation/karlian.ruleset"
in nationlist.ruleset
2. added karlian.ruleset to "nation" folder
3. edited the specfiles

Problems I face:
1. After editing nationlist.ruleset, launching the server results in the following (even when I undo the modification):

Code: Select all

This is the server for Freeciv version 2.6.2
You can learn a lot about Freeciv at http://www.freeciv.org/
This freeciv-server program has player authentication support, but it's currently not in use.
2: Loading rulesets.
1: Could not find a readable "techs.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "buildings.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "governments.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "units.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "terrain.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "styles.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "cities.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "nations.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "effects.ruleset" ruleset file.
1: Could not find a readable "game.ruleset" ruleset file.

For this reason I have no way to understand where the other mproblems come from.

2. Client gets stuck on "Starting local server" when I try to start a new game.

What can I do?

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby Corbeau » Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:46 pm

The same problem didn't occur before changing the nations.ruleset?
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* Longturn blog!
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...

KTPtheKing
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby KTPtheKing » Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:08 pm

Corbeau wrote:The same problem didn't occur before changing the nations.ruleset?


No, neither 1 nor 2.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby Corbeau » Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:21 pm

Can you retrace your steps, use the old nations.ruleset, and try starting the game again?
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* Longturn blog!
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1890
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby cazfi » Fri Feb 21, 2020 8:28 pm

The error isn't with nations ruleset only, nor is it occurring with nations ruleset first. It finds no rulesets at all. Since this is in launching the server, it's the classic (default in 2.6) ruleset it can't find. What command exactly you use to launch the server?

KTPtheKing
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby KTPtheKing » Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:56 pm

Corbeau wrote:Can you retrace your steps, use the old nations.ruleset, and try starting the game again?


If I use the "normal" nationlist.ruleset, the server gives the same result but the game does load.

KTPtheKing
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby KTPtheKing » Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:56 pm

cazfi wrote:The error isn't with nations ruleset only, nor is it occurring with nations ruleset first. It finds no rulesets at all. Since this is in launching the server, it's the classic (default in 2.6) ruleset it can't find. What command exactly you use to launch the server?


To launch the server I drag and drop its exe into a Win10 command prompt

KTPtheKing
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Add nations: problem

Postby KTPtheKing » Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:05 am

In the end I think I solved all issues. I understood how to use the override folder (at least for the nation files) and how to open the server correctly.
Thank you very much for your help.