[SOLVED] Different starting settings: government and palace

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

[SOLVED] Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Corbeau » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:48 pm

Two questions that I couldn't find the answer to elsewhere:

1. Is it possible to set a starting government other than Despotism?

2. Is it possible to prevent the first city built to automatically have a palace? I have disabled "automatic palace" in server settings and even removed it from "global_init_buildings" in game.ruleset, but it is still appearing in the first city I build.
Last edited by Corbeau on Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Q: Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Caedo » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:02 pm

Re: 1
The (fallback) initial government is declared in nations.ruleset, since starting governments are theoretically defined at the nation level. The supplied rulesets (and the supplied nations) don't make use of that feature though.

Re: 2
The savepalace server setting (which I assume you're referring to) shouldn't have any effect on whether or not the first city contains a palace; it should only come into effect if you lose the city containing the palace (or any other small wonder with the SaveSmallWonder flag).
As for removing the palace from global_init_buildings: Are you using custom nations? If so, do they happen to have the palace in their init_buildings?
~S.C. L.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Q: Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Corbeau » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:41 pm

Ok, nations.ruleset is probably the only file I didn't check :D

As for Palace, all nation rulesets I checked also have

Code: Select all

init_buildings=""

Ignatus
Hardened
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Q: Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Ignatus » Fri Jun 21, 2019 6:43 am

The ruleset-specific initial buildings are listed in game.ruleset in options.global_init_buildings (can not contain great wonders). If a building in that list has active savepalace flag, then it appears whenever a civ gets a city after it had none, otherwise only in the first civ's city.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Q: Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Corbeau » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:17 am

Can somoeone list all the ways a person can screw up? Make it a joint effort. I'll find a combination that you haven't thought of.

Problem solved. All advice from above was helpful.

Ignatus
Hardened
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Ignatus » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:46 pm

By the way, if set sarting government to revolutionary, the players will be able to select preferred government (from available with basic advances) at game start. Also, if you delete the government from nation set, the game will set by default compatibility.default_government from nations.ruleset.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby Corbeau » Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:43 am

Just checking, starting government is about the only thing that can be nation - specific in the game, right?

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Different starting settings: government and palace

Postby cazfi » Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:06 am

Corbeau wrote:Just checking, starting government is about the only thing that can be nation - specific in the game, right?

Starting techs, starting buildings, starting units, trait values. Specific nation can be a requirement in anything that takes requirement vectors. With root_req usage entire tech trees can be nation -specific...