Page 1 of 1

Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:52 am
by Corbeau
Just checking, I *think* someone told me it's possible, but let's have it in writing:

Savegame does not contain the ruleset. If I change the ruleset, save the game, restart the server with the new ruleset and load the game, it continues with the new ruleset.

Is this correct?

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:42 pm
by Caedo
If by "change the ruleset" you mean "modify the ruleset while keeping the name the same", then yes.

Note that you can actually switch the ruleset mid-game by manually editing the save file and then loading the edited version, but unless the rulesets are sufficiently compatible, this can lead to all sorts of problems.

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:20 pm
by Corbeau
Yes, basically, for the purposes of fixing bugs, making adjustments etc. For example, if I realised I screwed up some setting with late techs, I don't want to start the whole game from the beginning only to test it.

Thanks.

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:20 pm
by cazfi
Yes, savegame only contains name of the ruleset to load.

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:48 pm
by wieder
Some server settings like tech trading are saved with the save files.

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:36 am
by Caedo
Yeah, but as you said, those are server settings, not part of the ruleset.