Changing ruleset mid-game?

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby Corbeau » Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:52 am

Just checking, I *think* someone told me it's possible, but let's have it in writing:

Savegame does not contain the ruleset. If I change the ruleset, save the game, restart the server with the new ruleset and load the game, it continues with the new ruleset.

Is this correct?
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby Caedo » Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:42 pm

If by "change the ruleset" you mean "modify the ruleset while keeping the name the same", then yes.

Note that you can actually switch the ruleset mid-game by manually editing the save file and then loading the edited version, but unless the rulesets are sufficiently compatible, this can lead to all sorts of problems.
~ A.V. L.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby Corbeau » Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:20 pm

Yes, basically, for the purposes of fixing bugs, making adjustments etc. For example, if I realised I screwed up some setting with late techs, I don't want to start the whole game from the beginning only to test it.

Thanks.
--
* Freeciv LongTurn, a community of one-turn-per-day players and developers
* Longturn Discord server; real-time chatting, discussing, quarrelling, trolling, gaslighting...

cazfi
Elite
Posts: 2003
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby cazfi » Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:20 pm

Yes, savegame only contains name of the ruleset to load.

wieder
Hardened
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:43 am

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby wieder » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:48 pm

Some server settings like tech trading are saved with the save files.

User avatar
Caedo
Elite
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:21 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Changing ruleset mid-game?

Postby Caedo » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:36 am

Yeah, but as you said, those are server settings, not part of the ruleset.
~ A.V. L.