Page 2 of 2

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:08 am
by cazfi
S3_0 and master have "Stealings_Ignore" effect

From README.effects:
Stealings_Ignore
When determining how difficult it is to steal a tech from enemy, AMOUNT
previous times tech has been stolen from the city is ignored. Negative amount
means that number of times tech has already been stolen from target city does
not affect current attempt at all. With this effect it's possible to allow
diplomats to steal tech multiple times from the same city, or make it easier
for spies.

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:38 am
by wieder
Maybe not too powerful in that sense but stealing with spies/diplos might be too profitable if the cost is too low. Now the spies on LT40 cost 80 and that also makes it less tempting to steal techs. Another reason for the high cost is poisoning.Poisoning cities to size 1 has been kind of too powerful weapon. Now it's still there but it's no longer super cheap as it was with spies costing 30.

Freeciv 3.0 has tons of nice features. While there is no actual upgrade plan on longturn.org, I'm sure this will happen one day.Also knowing about the new features makes it even more tempting :)

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:19 pm
by mir3x
Corbeau wrote:While we're at it, any chance to allow diplomats to steal techs from same city multiple times?

Or, a more long-term solution, but probably more complicated to implement, separate all those actions into different flags in the ruleset?
in file server/diplomats.c in function diplomat_get_tech(..) its line 612 in 2.5

change

Code: Select all

 if (pcity->server.steal > 0 && !unit_has_type_flag(pdiplomat, UTYF_SPY)) {
to

Code: Select all

if (0) 
With that diplomat would behave like spies, but without choosing tech to steal and with decreased chance to steal again.

To steal like a boss with normal chance all the time, add somewhere

Code: Select all

pcity->server.steal = 0
eg line 608 after

Code: Select all

log_debug("steal-tech: infiltrated");
Haven't tested this but should work.

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:15 pm
by Corbeau
mir3x wrote:With that diplomat would behave like spies, but without choosing tech to steal and with decreased chance to steal again.
Actually, the issue is mostly poisoning cities. Everything else is negotiable, but this would be crucial (for a quick patch):
1. Possible to steal tech multiple times from the same city
2. Not possible to poison a city

edit: Oh, I just reread your post. Does "behave like spies" refer to only stealing technology and nothing else?