Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
cazfi
Elite
Posts: 1510
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Postby cazfi » Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:08 am

S3_0 and master have "Stealings_Ignore" effect

From README.effects:
Stealings_Ignore
When determining how difficult it is to steal a tech from enemy, AMOUNT
previous times tech has been stolen from the city is ignored. Negative amount
means that number of times tech has already been stolen from target city does
not affect current attempt at all. With this effect it's possible to allow
diplomats to steal tech multiple times from the same city, or make it easier
for spies.

wieder
Hardened
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:43 am

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Postby wieder » Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:38 am

Maybe not too powerful in that sense but stealing with spies/diplos might be too profitable if the cost is too low. Now the spies on LT40 cost 80 and that also makes it less tempting to steal techs. Another reason for the high cost is poisoning.Poisoning cities to size 1 has been kind of too powerful weapon. Now it's still there but it's no longer super cheap as it was with spies costing 30.

Freeciv 3.0 has tons of nice features. While there is no actual upgrade plan on longturn.org, I'm sure this will happen one day.Also knowing about the new features makes it even more tempting :)

User avatar
mir3x
Veteran
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Postby mir3x » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:19 pm

Corbeau wrote:While we're at it, any chance to allow diplomats to steal techs from same city multiple times?

Or, a more long-term solution, but probably more complicated to implement, separate all those actions into different flags in the ruleset?


in file server/diplomats.c in function diplomat_get_tech(..) its line 612 in 2.5

change

Code: Select all

 if (pcity->server.steal > 0 && !unit_has_type_flag(pdiplomat, UTYF_SPY)) {

to

Code: Select all

if (0)


With that diplomat would behave like spies, but without choosing tech to steal and with decreased chance to steal again.

To steal like a boss with normal chance all the time, add somewhere

Code: Select all

pcity->server.steal = 0

eg line 608 after

Code: Select all

log_debug("steal-tech: infiltrated");


Haven't tested this but should work.

User avatar
Corbeau
Elite
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Re: Stealing techs with spies/conquering

Postby Corbeau » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:15 pm

mir3x wrote:With that diplomat would behave like spies, but without choosing tech to steal and with decreased chance to steal again.

Actually, the issue is mostly poisoning cities. Everything else is negotiable, but this would be crucial (for a quick patch):
1. Possible to steal tech multiple times from the same city
2. Not possible to poison a city

edit: Oh, I just reread your post. Does "behave like spies" refer to only stealing technology and nothing else?