Freeciv as a teaching tool

Contribute, display and discuss rulesets and modpacks for use in Freeciv here.
groduick

Freeciv as a teaching tool

Post by groduick »

Hello,

I'm a teacher working with kids with learning difficulties, and I was thinking about using Freeciv (mainly freeciv-web, but I can switch to a windows version if needed) as a mean of teaching them some historical notions.

Before I immerse myself into the documentation, I'd like to know if there's an easy way to disable some features of the game (for example scientific research), because I really need to make the game a lot less complex.

Also, my google skills must be rusty, I wasn't able to find an editor to create (or at least modify) my own maps, only the edition mode in my client (freeciv-gtk 2.4.2 on Linux Mint 17.3).

Thank you for your answers, and congratulations to the team for a great game.

PS: is there anyone who knows about someone else using freeciv to teach history?
PPS: english isn't my mother-tongue, so please excuse me for any mystake
cazfi
Elite

Re: Freeciv as a teaching tool

Post by cazfi »

groduick wrote:I'm a teacher working with kids with learning difficulties, and I was thinking about using Freeciv (mainly freeciv-web, but I can switch to a windows version if needed) as a mean of teaching them some historical notions.

Before I immerse myself into the documentation, I'd like to know if there's an easy way to disable some features of the game (for example scientific research), because I really need to make the game a lot less complex.
Unless adjustments available as server settings are enough, you need to go to modified ruleset. Freeciv-web uses either one of the two rulesets available on the server, so this would rule use of freeciv-web out.
I've been thinking making a simple ruleset for my own kids to use, but unfortunately have had no time to actually do it.